UUUUUUGGGGHHHHHH audio difficulty…

Years ago, I saw the movie Bottle Rocket, and I went CCRRAAZZYY over the song that was playing when Inés first shows up.  It was so lively and groovy.

But I couldn’t really find anything about what song that was because on whatever weird taped or burned copy of that movie had found me, the credits were ineligible, plus it was one of a couple of songs that they didn’t put on the official soundtrack, and I lived in the country in the 90′s; I didn’t get cool music.  (I had to listen to the same tapes over and over, until I knew each song like the back of my hand)  (ask me about circle jerks lyrics…)

Anyways, a couple days ago I got this album “Afro-Peruvian Classics: the Soul of Black Peru”.  It’s an old (1995) compilation from Luaka Bop, David Byrne’s record label.  Its full of great music, but what jumped (WAY) out on me was the track from Bottle Rocket.  It’s by Abelardo Vasquez & Cumanana, called “Prendeme La Vela”.

So far I’m having a hard time finding out much about him.  The Luaka Bop website doesn’t have any mention, nor does Wikipedia.  There’s a couple Youtube clips, but they aren’t very informative, you just get to see what he looks like.

What I did find, though, is a blog entry at Aquarium Drunkard dedicated to the soundtrack of Bottle rocket, and it had links to 2 of the OST’s 4 omitted songs.

This post is, then, is going to consist of me figuring out how to repost the track from over there to my blog.  Apparently embedding video is much easier than audio.  SO…

Here’s a download soundcloud link? this isn’t what I want at all.  I’ll figure out a different player today hopefully. maybe I should try with a different audio clip.

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in downloads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

