SLOMOGRUV / happy 100

so, I got a setlist i like to vibe out right before the party.  11-12 kinda thing…I’ve been adding tracks to it for a bit, but the main few I play a lot, like almost every week.

Anyway, the other day my roommate Harley was showing me something off one of our new records, and it ties it all together, so I’m gonna post a bunch of tracks from that list, and try and make a really good post for my 100th here.

A couple weeks ago, my roommates, who are a couple, went across the river to Justine’s parents place, and were given a big stack of vinyl; more than 100 records, probably. We’ve slowly but surely been going through them.  Lot’s of stuff was familiar; there are a couple Talking Heads records, The Police, Patti Smith, Roxy Music, The Clash, etc…  And there’s a lot of French pop that I didn’t know, but I’m pretty into.

But a real gem has been Manfred Mann’s Earth Band. I knew that song “Blinded by the light” before (whatever), and also some of his early British invasion stuff, but I had never heard Solar Fire, and didn’t know he’d done something so heavy.  The album’s got a couple of REALLY GOOD JAMS, and it flows really well, but when I heard this one in particular, I was instantly taken.  The dog barking is amazing, and the synths are so awesome.

This one is so groovy.  I found it when i was on my recent turkish music obsession.  I love that heavy funk mixed with the way he sings.  It’s just a deep groove. I mix it with “Ikimiz Bir Fidaniz“, which i just posted a few days ago.

I love Tame Impala, and I really love Tame Impala Remix’s. This one I love because even though it’s slow, it’s got that headshakin groove that feels sweaty and druggy like Jagwar Ma or something.

A new addition to this set came in this morning, when I seen Gilles Petersons ‘monthly bandcamp picks‘ in my newsfeed. Don’t need to know much about it…it’s a weird, wild, and psychedelic jam.  Brainfeeder vibes.

I also, of course, have some rap jams in the list.  I’ve been throwing in Cypress Hill – “I Wanna Get High”, because it’s in the same tempo range, and everybody loves black sunday, however, I also throw this jam in, because it grabbed me the second I heard it. It might be a downer for some, but I think it BANGS. (sidenote, the other day me and my bro Mamoru were chilling, and he was talking about how “Super Rich Kids” is a striking and amazing song because of the way the melody opens up when Earl comes in Rapping in a different key than the beat, and whether he knows it or not, he has a very good ear for music, so, big up Earl, you’re killing it!)

Also, I’ve been playing this one a fair bit since I got it from mixtape riot.  It’s probably one of the funkiest songs I ever heard.  Kind of too bad it was made into a shitty rap song, but maybe it wouldn’t have seen the light of day without that, so it’s a good thing in the end?

Last for right now is kind of a strange one.  I find it hard to fit Kwes or Micachu into my sets; those Kwesachu mixtapes are very free-form.  I used to mix “Golden Phone” with “Close To Me” and get a little 180bpm thing going on, but mostly I think Micachu is someone I’ve listened to at home, because her music can be a bit abstract, and I remember when Jewellery came out, nobody would let me play it in the work truck, even though I loved it.  Kwes on the other hand, is often too mellow to play out (not always).  This jam, though, has a cool sort of post-everything, we-love-samplers, uk-bass, triphop, whatever kind of vibe, while still remaining somewhat accessible and I’ll throw it in when I’m getting trippy.

Ok, that’s all for now. Happy one-hundredth post, Jeff. Thanks, Jeff.

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in music videos, streams. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment