Jeff begins learning reaktor

I went to start another blog, but decided to delete that one, and just put all my posts here.  The post that will be really gone will be the intro, where I basically announced that I’m going to start figuring out reaktor (the native instruments modular synth software) and post videos and links of my progress.  I’ve still not attempted to make a video…this is for a few reasons…

I’ve actually found a few very good beginning tutorials, as well as found the user guide quite friendly (albeit a little annoying to scroll through…).

In terms of what I’ve been making so far, I’d say its pretty standard.  I’m working on a cool distorted bass that will give a sound in the vicinity of “sucker pin” and “black block” by modeselektor, and I’ve also been trying to make something that sounds like this, for a more beat/chill sort of sound.

anyways, so far, I’ve been really excited about learning, and have found more resources than I initially expected I would.  A few of the tutorials don’t cover anything that isn’t in the manual…(especially the sonic academy ones, I actually was really unimpressed with their tut… ) but you can find some stuff thats quick to set up your first synth, and its worth taking a look at. (eg…)

SO here 2 links to my favorite resources so far.

The youtube tut on making a pitched grainer is pretty cool.  It moves fast, with no narrative, and I recommend watching it fully through before trying to mimic, but the end result is a great example of how quickly you can create something unique and powerful with reaktor.  He spliced his videos poorly, so the beginnings of the second and 3rd videos are missing image cells, and come off quite choppy, but no vital elements were missed, so it doesn’t really matter. Also its 720, so you can read all the numeric values he assigns too his knobs, and those are important, so i do recommend the higher def.

Next is this one about making an FM synth, and it is very cool to.  Its a quick six parter, and it, again, shows you how quickly you could build something with huge potential.  The guy in those is pretty funny, and he’s got another tutorial where he makes another granuilar instrument.  (the other inspiration for the one I’m working on.)

and lastly, I just wanted to hook up a link to Richard Devine and co, over at twisted toolsbecause if you sign up your email, they give you 5 or 6 free patches that, although i haven’t really looked too thoroughly at, have super cool control surfaces that hopefully I can learn from.

Ummmmm, thoughts so far on reaktor are that its pretty cool for setting up your own control surfaces that will vary in function completely from track to track.  I think It’s going to definately be my performing tool, and in not long at all, I think I’ll start running my guitar through it to very cool results.

🙂

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in learning, reaktor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

