Colombi/Peruvian vacation

I’m still looking on Farecompare every day, because the price doesn’t really fluctuate much, but I’m pretty sure I check it often enough that I will catch a drop…

Trying to find out about the electronic music scene in Peru is a bit tough though…I mean, I can go on Ghettobassquake and find out about the odd band or style, but there isn’t as explosive a scene to be found on internet in Peru as there is in Colombia…(take, for example, my post last week had all the different groups of people going to work on albums in the Cumbia vein). Right now artists like Lido Pimienta and Isa GT are blowing up in the international club/dance/bass music scenes, and now my favorite NYC dj’s and Producers fly to them to make music; meanwhile, I haven’t really heard of people coming out remixing Peruvian songs for NY clubs.

I have read about Peruvian clubs playing techno-cumbia to crazy packed dancefloors, but I can’t seem to find a peruvian equivilant of electro-champeta or of raptor house/changa tuki, despite hearing about how “Peruvian clubs go all night long”.

On a side note, I have heard some amazing chicha albums, looking around.

Anyway, when you branch out from electronic music, and start looking at “indie” styles coming from south american countries, you see that mainly it’s Chile or Argentina…maybe Brazil…Internet makes peru seem like a pretty traditional place.

Maybe this is a sign that peruvian folkloric music doesn’t appeal in the same way to a younger generation, or maybe it means that Peruvians don’t have access to computers like other South American kids do…Anyways, I’m gonna keep looking (as one does), and leave this post a smash hit from Colombia…70 million views is no joke!

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in humanity, learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

