WEEKEND CITY

SO I am NOT going to Peru,  I am going to Bolivia, to teach music to kids and do an exchange of indigenous culture.  I’m heading down in February, with an organization called “L’Amie” to be placed in Sucre for 4 months.

Until then, I’ll hang out in Montreal playing guitar, making bass music, and going to shows.

I’m excited about doing lots of recording in Bolivia, especially because I’ll be doing instrument making workshops and be learning a lot about Andean music, so I’ll probably meet some people who can really play.  I’m going to sell my ZoomH4, and buy something a little better, and bring a couple of mics so I can be more portable than a laptop, and I’ll just fill up a lot of cards and worry about editing when I get home.

Meanwhile, in Montreal, I’ll hopefully be having as much fun as I did last night, when I went to see Poirier and Thornato at CFC (which was zoobizaare last time I was in this city).

That show was just great.  There was bit of live rap that didn’t quite get me excited, and Thornato wasn’t what I expected (a bit more slamfest), but oh MAN; no wonder Poirier is famous…that set was so good!  Perfect arc, didn’t get too fast to quick, just smooth mixes, and great selection…it was the best set I’ve seen in so long.

And today when I went my SC dashboard,he posted a new mashup, so I think I’ll spend the next long time being a massive fan of his, and I’ll post it right here: 

Also this morning, I heard a new Isa GT remix from man records blog, so here’s that one, too: 

This Arcade remix is awesome.  Tiny synth’s and huge sub kicks is what I will be up to for the rest of the day.  In Poirier’s set, for the the first while he played a bunch of slow dance hall beats with huge boomin’ kicks, and barely anything else, and it was awesome.  I’m gonna find a couple acapella’s today and make an <80bpm riddim.

It wasn’t all slow, though.  Near the end, when he was picking it up, he played that AJ holmes/uproot and remix I posted the other day, then some tribal (magdelena had everyone singing along), and ended it with French Fries’ “Laquisha”, which is my fallback track for when I don’t know what to play, because it’s the best dance jam ever!

So, here’s the video for Laquisha, regardless of whether I posted it before or not…(IDK if I did..???) and also, here’s a video of Boogat, because he was the host of the night, and I think Poirier produced the track.

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in downloads, music videos, streams. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WEEKEND CITY

  1. enjoying the poirier mashup, but my mac isn’t doing it justice. gotta link for : French Fries’ “Laquisha” ? youtube don’t work in china

Leave a Reply

