CUMBIASOUND

so, I buy and download a lot of post-cumbia, post-tropical music; some very very weird stuff, some very good stuff.

There are labels I blindly trust, for example I will buy music from zzk without needing much of a listen (yesterday i found an old beatport gift card that came with my traktor controller, and I bought the newest Mati Zundel album without even listening to it once).

There are other labels that have very solid outputs and I’ve wound up buying their entire catalogue.

My problem area can be trying to go with an open mind to all the free labels.  Sometimes I find releases that make me wonder if the label would put out literally anything submitted (I won’t name names), and I stop paying to much attention to that label for a quite a while…but i try not to ever completely lose contact because of artists like Rafael Aragon popping up out of nowhere, with these massive banks of great songs and remixes… and putting them out on whichever random netlabel happens to be there at the moment…

ANYWAY while ago I came across a pretty cool free release, which I downloaded and just sort of put aside after only listening once…But today when i was picking out music to make some new playlists for dj gigs, I gave it another listen and I was VIBING!!!!!

CUMBIASOUND!!!!

It’s pretty random to find them there on caballito, as well, because the are a Swedish band, and this label before had been pretty much all Latin digital-cumbia (and various offshoots), so to find something live was refreshing.  And now I’m really excited to work them into this new set. (I might make a little demo to throw online.)

They are talented musicians, and shoot off into tangeants of balkan or afro influenced sounds, and other vibes as well, and their stripped down asthaetic reminds me of Quantic’s cumbia band, or slowed down versions of those Mad Professor edits of Frente Cumbieiro.

ENTONCES..here’s my favorite song from the EP, and a link to where it can be bought instead of downloaded for free…(because weirdos like me do that sometimes.)

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CUMBIASOUND

  1. Vesa says:

    Cumbiasound led me here. I just discovered the band on Soundcloud. Thanks for listing other artists and labels! I’ve been trying to find new cumbia and post-cumbia.

Leave a Reply

