UAO!!!!!

I’m pretty sure I’ve already shared some of these videos on my facebook, but I don’t care…

This is how I been vibing lately. I don’t know how much of this is too new, but I’m just really into all these songs right now. Like, my next DJ set is gonna have all of these songs in it.

This first song I just saw today.  Someone I recently started following on FB shared a link to this song by Gwen Bunn. I’d never heard of her, and while I wasn’t super crazy about the song itself, I liked her voice. (I also liked that song that comes up first on the bandcamp link).

So after liking these songs, but thinking “boy, there’s something about her, but I couldn’t really play too much of that in my dj sets,”  I did a googly, and found this video below, which is super groovy perfect, and fit’s really well with some other stuff I been into lately.

(PS, It also kinda reminds me of the sesame street song by my big crush…)

Next is a SUPER jam I came across the other day.  These guys have a newer EP, but this song is my favorite they’ve done. I’m really gonna be watching these guys.  Just check how cool their website is!!!

It feels like what you would get if you mixed early TV on the Radio with Sa Ra Creative Partners.  Like, it’s got some nice groove, but it’s deep too, and they’ve really got their own thing going on.

This one here I won’t say much about because it probably already is gonna get 100% blog love, but…JAM!!! what a good song.  This guy keeps getting better and better.

This song is sweet.  Again, I don’t reallyknow what to say about it.  It’s odd future, so it’s pretty hot topic and I doubt I could add too much to that conversation.

But this is a pretty perfect jam. Upbeat but subdued.

Last week I was checking out a “top” list on beatport (maybe top funk?), and I heard maybe 4 seconds of this song before i clicked buy. Usually Moodymann is a bit housy for me, but this one’s laid back.

Anyway, I bought the track, and last Saturday I played it as the first song in my set, and about a minute in a guy came and had to write down the song name and artist…I was, like, “noted.”

So, this next one is probably a year or more old, and I’m not quite sure about them.  It reminds me of when i first heard Cubic Zirconia.  I was so nuts about that Tiombe song from PPP (hey, the same as that other link I posted! what a web I weave!) And then when I heard her freaking out and getting weird over techno, and giving guest spots to Spoek, I was like, “YEAH!” and i bought their full length without even really listening to it.  A couple years later, and I never listen to that album. At all. Ever.

So maybe that’s how I’m gonna feel in a while about these guys…”O UAO! P4K GAVE A 7.5, R&B ACT ON INDIE LABEL, WEIRD VIDEO HOT GIRL, LOOPED PSYCHEDELIC CROSSOVER BLAH BLAH ETC…AMAZING!!! ÇA VA #CHANGERLEMONDE!!!!”

Then a year later, like, “whatever”. Well, more than a year later, i guess, because the album is early 2k12.

BUT I REALLY LIKE THIS SONG THIS WEEK!!!!

The last song today is pretty mellow, and maybe not quite in line with the other music, but I started playing it out, so i’ll include it here.  I actually, I started following Snakehips, who I mentioned above, because of a remix of this song, which is a bit more upbeat/maybe better for playing out, and because most of her other stuff I’ve heard is either not quite up my alley, or too mellow, so I made an assumption that I would need a “dancier” version to play.

But last week I played the original out anyway. I just really like it.  When that vocal first comes in;  so nice.

Anyway, those are all tunes that have recently come into my set rotation, and will probably stay there for a bit, so I thought I’d share.

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

