UK THROWBACKS

here’s some the dance songs i still play with funky uk vibes…

I’m playing tonight, and these are all songs that I just can’t resist, even though they’re old. They just make me bounce.

My friend Lesley turned me on to this one.  I mean, I knew these guys a bit, because I’ve been a huge Hotchip fan since The Warning, but when Lesley played it in a set, I was like, “JAM!”

I remember when this next one came out, last spring, I really thought it was gonna be the jam of the summer, but I didn’t hear any DJ other than me play it, and nobody seemed quite as taken by it as me on the dancefloor, but srs, the first time I heard it I totally thought it was gonna blow up and be everywhere. Instead Drake just got even more famous, I guess…

2 Weeks ago I played this one out again, and quite a few people knew it, and got into it.  I think it’s such a nice rhythm.  Bouncy, but loose.  A lot of ways to move to this song…I used to blare it driving with my bro Rod from Ivory Coast. He would turn it WAAAAY up.

A couple weeks ago that movie Frances Ha came out on dvd, and I watched it.  I was pretty much “w/e”, but this song was on it, and I just got AMPED.  I hadn’t heard it in so long, and it’s funny because I while ago, I was like, “I wanna play a Bootsauce song one of these days, but even here in MTL, hardly anybody seems to remember them (maybe I am friends with too many people born in the 90s?).  And nobody seems to remember that Hot Chocolate had any other song than “You Sexy Thing”….So here’s a real UK throwback…

Here’s a last one that’s just another English band I play all the time, and this is the song I play most…I know I’ve posted these guys before, and I probably would have posted that song a while ago, but there is no official clip, so…(maybe i should make one? YARITE)

ok…thatsitthatsall#

About jefrab

hahaha. I'm just a funny guy who sits at home on my computer a lot, and dj's a bit, and makes music sometimes, and tries to teach himself how to use complicated software of all types. I'm a hippy from an island of 800, who grew up without a radio or flush toilet, but who has somehow managed to make his way around the world, and learn the difference between chinos and khakis...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

